True Stories by Courageous Women

by Sherry Dmytrewycz

Last year I found myself going through a great deal of emotional upheaval. I had a lot of fears to face. At the height of my struggles, I joined a writing group. My initial reason for getting into the group was to get myself to write and publish a book. I felt that doing a group book would be an easy introduction to book writing. The experience turned out to be an ideal way to look at the emotional upheaval in my life and to form new ways of looking at it to help work through it.

It all began when I attended a gathering called Awesome Woman Hub. There I met Andrea Hylen and several other amazing woman. Andrea announced that she was seeking individuals for a group “Heal My Voice” in which everyone would write a personal story about being fearless, which would go into a group book.

I signed on not knowing what I would write about despite the inner voice that told me I would be writing about what I had just been through with my mother. I kept denying that inner voice thinking that something else would come to mind for my story topic. At that point I had no idea how healing and good for me the writing would be, otherwise, I would not have resisted so much. When I began writing, I was still in the middle of the emotional trauma with my mother. I found writing about it did help me to process the experience.

For writing my story, I was encouraged to share my deepest thoughts and feelings about the experience. For many months I found myself unable to write at all. What I needed to write about brought up too many painful memories that I struggled to even begin to put into words. Tears flowed often. I struggled to find the lessons in my experiences in order to put anger and hurt aside. Eventually my story came out, and with the guidance and support of Andrea, the group, friends, and family, my story was edited and rewritten several times. Each individual helped me heal, let go, and change my thinking patterns. Energy healing sessions, done as always with unconditional love, also assisted me with releasing pent up emotions to form new perspectives.

Now that my story: “Walking on Eggshells,” has been submitted for the book: Fearless Voices: True Stories by Courageous Women, I am finding articles that discuss the healing power of writing. James Pennebaker, a psychologist, conducted studies with his college students. He asked them to write about a traumatic experience in a way that reflected how they felt about what happened and how they felt now. In the end these students reported improvements in mood, outlook on life, and in their physical health. Dr. Pennebaker suggests that their writing helped reduced their biological stress as they came to terms with the upsetting experience. Many students expressed that bringing parts of the experience to the surface was painful and the long term improved health results were evident in fewer trips to the health center through the year.

I am not advocating that rehashing a traumatic event over and over is always good for your health. I have seen many who are stuck in a cycle of victim consciousness that they have been unable to let go of for many years. Research shows that taking a little time and allowing yourself to be vulnerable, to look at, and to write about your feelings about traumatic events may be just the right thing for your improved health and happiness.

If you would like some emotional support during your writing, contact me for an Intuitive Energy Healing session.

Sherry Dmytrewycz 703 802 0377

Leave a comment